VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

C&p Exam For Ischemic Heart Disease

Rate this question

Marv

Question

I'm an old Viet Nam vet (67-68). I have filed for SC for IHD 3 times since 1995 and have been denied all 3 times. Back in December 2009 I filed again once IHD became presumptive to Agent Orange. I just received the results of my C&P exam for IHD. The diagnosis reads as follows:

"For the claimant's claimed condition of Coronary Artery Disease, the diagnosis is Coronary Artery Disease and Hypertensive Heart Disease, S/P CABG (bypass surgery) with scar. The subjective factors are per history. The objective factors are ASA, CXR reveals previous median sternotomy for CABG, ECHO shows EF of 40% and Diastolic LV dysfunction."

My past history includes 2 heart attacks, an angioplasty and 2 bypass surgeries, however, I've never been dignosed with hypertensive heart disease nor have I been treated for hypertension.

During the C&P exam the doctor did 3 blood pressure readings which read 142/78, 140/78 and 140/78. I can only assume that he based his diagnosis of Hypertensive Heart Disease only on these 3 readings. Based on the C&P doctor's recommendation I immediately visited my family doctor and my cardiologist. Both checked me out and said I did not need blood pressure medication. Blood pressure readings in their office were around 135/78.

My question is this. Do I need to inform the VA that I've never had a prior diagnosis of HHD and that my doctors don't agree with that diagnosis? Could the diagnosis of Hypertensive Heart Disease have a negative impact on my claim for the other heart conditions?

Any info will be appreciated.

• Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question