VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Cue Of A Denial Of Smc, Based On A Tdiu Rating Prior To Bradley V Peake,

Rate this topic

I know the following is a long discussion of Bradley v peake some of which has been discussed over and over, but in the final analysis, I think there is a valid way to claim cue based on the laws in effect at the time of the denials. If you want to skip the legal crap go down to the final two pargraphs. ( but you might miss some important stuff by skipping )

For those that are attempting to justify an SMC rating based on a TDIU rating prior to Bradley V Peake, and for those who are trying to justify a TDIU and 100% rating held at the same time. I submit the following. I am not a lawyer. This is just my opinion based on my readings.

In a February 2, 1994 General counsel Opinion Precedent 2-94, Paragraph 7 specifically states the following:

7. Although it is not in the question before us, we also find nothing in the language of section 1114(s) to indicate that Congress meant to exclude service-connected disabilities rated as total under 38 CFR $4.16, i.e., a total rating based on individual unemployability. Where statutory language does not establish a condition to its application, such a condition may not be construed unless a straight forward application of the language as written would violate or affect the clear purpose of the enactment. The clear purpose of public law no. 86-663 was to create a rate of compensation intermediate to the rates for veterans so disabled as to warrant a higher rate of special monthly compensation under 38 USC $114 …….

In a 7 June 1999, General counsel Opinion Precedence 6-99, HELD: