VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Non Agent Orange Source Of Dioxin/polychlorinated Dibenzodioxins

Rate this question

augoldminer

Question

On March 17, 1973, during Operation Endsweep Haiphong harbor North Vietnam the minesweep I was on(USS Enhance) suffered a major engine room fire.

This was our main generator room and the fire burned most of the wireing in the engine room to a crisp. almost everyone on board took in some smoke from this fire.

and i was a electrician and spent months working in the burned out engine room during the rebuilding process.

Some of this wireing dated back to when the ship was built (October 1952)and would have had PCB containing in the insulation on the electrical cables.

from the research i have done these cables would have released large ammounts of dioxin/Polychlorinated dibenzodioxins as they burned.

Since 2002 in have had two rare autoimmune disorders Castleman's disease and Sarcoidosis.and plus a heart attack and diabetes from what i have found all could be linked to dioxin/Polychlorinated dibenzodioxins exposure years ago.

Sarcoidosis is classed as a Occupational Disease among firefighters.

And they would have been exposed to burning PCB containing wiring in older buildings.

Now how do i file for service connection to dioxin/Polychlorinated dibenzodioxins exposure not linked to agent orange.

• HadIt.com Elder