VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Dual Degree Payment

Rate this question

thdrew

Question

Hello all,

Long story short, I was a dual degree student for a while. Voc rehab counselor called and told me they do not support dual degrees. Went up to supervisor level and they turned it down again, made me pick one or the other. Issue is I was actually able to complete the other degree at the same time I was taking classes for the main degree. I am about to graduate and the VA is going to surely be getting a bill for two degrees and take notice. I cant pay for the other degree past graduation because the school will make me take an additional 15 upper level hours.

Question is: Can the VA charge me for the other classes I took after changing my major? I mean, what can they really do? I was able to complete two degrees in 3.5 years because of my ability and determination. My end goal is getting a job so I used the program I was entitled to be the most marketable I can be. Thoughts?

• Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

4 answers to this question

Didn't the VA pay for the main degree already? while you were in Voc Rehab?

"Can the VA charge me for the other classes I took after changing my major?"

Were you paid a Voc Rehab stipend that included the credit hours for both degrees?

Has VA Voc Rehab asked you for any type of reimbursement?
This doesn't make sense.

i assume you have dealt with the VA Voc Rehab counselor at your school.They might be able to straighten this out.

And maybe this link will help:

http://www.benefits.va.gov/vocrehab/subsistence_allowance_rates.asp