VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

BVA Appeal decision - TDIU warranted but not ordered

Rate this question

armyrob

Question

Today I received my BVA decision in the BBE. I have been working my own claim since 2006 -- yep, almost 10 years. I filed for IU in 2008, even though my ratings were in the VA hamster wheel. The RO has continued to grant and increase in small doses -- essentially obfuscating the effective date. I continued to appeal those decisions. Finally, the my case came before the BVA, and the BVA ordered the effective dates to 2006 in the "order" section. One other issue was remanded back to AMC/RO for further development.

HOWEVER, on the issue of TDIU -- under the "conclusions of law" section it states; "Resolving doubt in the favor of the veteran, the criteria for TDIU has been met". In another section on specific issues: TDIU (after five pages of findings of fact and case law), the final statement says "Resolving doubt in the favor of the veteran, TDIU is warranted."

However, the TDIU is not mentioned in the "ORDER" section, nor is it mentioned in the "REMAND" section. From what I have seen, anything that is sent back to the AMC/RO that is not either in the remand or order sections are flat out denied by the RO. Anytime the BVA implies anything, the RO assumes they have free reign to just ignore or deny.

I am honestly unsure how to proceed since this is neither a grant, remand, or denial.. In order for it to be a grant it has to be noted in the "order" section of the BVA decision. One cannot appeal a remand because it is not a final decision, and this is not a remand anyway.