VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Secondary to Service Connected Issue

Rate this question

ShuMan

Question

Is it true that for secondary issues you DO NOT need your in service medical records reviewed in order to obtain a Nexus letter?

And has anyone had any success in claiming secondary issues?

For example I am looking at putting in a claim for neck and hip pain secondary to my service connected lower back pain. I'm being treated for both neck and hip pain by my VA doctor. By treated I mean given Pain killers and muscle relaxers..lol

Shuman, keep in mind I am by no means an expert, but NO, you should not need your in service strs to prove a secondary condition that is caused/aggravated by a sc condition. You will need your VA or private medical treatment records of course, showing treatment and progression of the secondary conditions. Has your VA provider stated any causes for the hip/neck pain in your records? If not, you might need to obtain an IMO to submit along with your records. If the doc has stated that your back is causing these conditions, then VA might grant the secondaries but there is the risk of getting sent to c&p exams and having the examiner opine against you. If you include the IMO, it SHOULD lessen the risk of you being sent to a c&p. Have you tried asking your doc if he/she would be willing to complete a DBQ(Disability benefits quesionnaire), for the neck and hip issues? You can google the DBQ forms, find the ones for your specific disabilities, and print them out. I had no problem getting my VA PCP to complete mine, but alot of veterans do have trouble getting their VA docs to complete them.

• Content Curator/HadIt.com Elder

Flores is correct!

Great advice!

Flores,