VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Rated at 0% - I need advice

Rate this question

wrldtravlr

Question

I'm a Gulf War veteran and I applied for disability for Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS).  The rating schedule is as follows:

7319 Irritable colon syndrome (spastic colitis, mucous colitis, irritable bowel, etc.):

Severe; diarrhea, or alternating diarrhea and constipation, with more
or less constant abdominal distress..................................................................... 30

Moderate; frequent episodes of bowel disturbance with abdominal
distress............................................................................................................ 10

Mild, disturbances of bowel function with occasional episodes of
abdominal distress.............................................................................................. 0

After waiting months I was rated at 0%.  Here is what I received:

1.  We have assigned a noncompensable evaluation for your irritable bowel syndrome based on:  Alternating diarrhea and constipation; Diarrhea; Frequent episodes of bowel disturbance.

2.  A higher evaluation of 10 percent is not warranted for irritable bowel syndrome unless the evidence shows moderate symptoms demonstrated by frequent episodes of bowel disturbance with abdominal distress.