VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Positive progression

Rate this question

Tomahawk

Question

I have been battling the VA for over 15 years.  I have had numerous vet reps throughout that time and in the end I got rid of them all and took the time to do the research myself.

Before finally sending my claim to the BVA, the DRO called me in mid July stating that they reviewed my claim and that 1 of the 5 issues I was contending was going to be granted for me.  And they also told me that within that review they saw two other claims that I should have made.  Which I found odd.  She basically told me that I should look over my file.  There are two conditions that are clearly related to my SC Disability and that were I to file for those they would be granted without any issue.  However she wouldn't tell me what those two conditions would be.  So I need to figure that out once I finish my appeal.

With that said, after an almost 7 year wait I had my BVA hearing last week.  I just started a job a month ago that is my first since service to offer medical insurance.  So I answered all of her questions, and presented my case, then requested the judge to hold the record open for 60 days so that I can have time to get an IME on 2 of my 4 issues which she granted. 

After we finished the hearing and she stopped recording she stated that she was pleasantly surprised.  Most veterans who represent themselves aren't prepared, it was clear that I had done my research, and that I did an exceptional job presenting my case.  I'm hopeful that she wasn't just blowing smoke and that my case was strong in her eyes already.