VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Reasonable Accomodations

Rate this question

CaliBay

Question

Hello Had It Family,

I have been working for the State Government in California since 2014, which at time of tire I did not disclose I was 50% disabled for Major Depressive Disorder.  I would like to know if it is too late to apply for ADA Reasonable Accomodations when I return to work? Some things that I may suggest if this is doable is to getan office with a door that shuts, flexible work hours for medical appoints and therapy, and possibly work from home.  I have even thought about requesting a service dog for emotional support.  What do you all think about my reasonable accommodation requests and if it is appropriate because I did not disclose when I initially got hired.

CaliBay

4 answers to this question

Well, you may want to think carefully about this.  I will play the devils advocate here..so you can get ready for tough boss questions:

What answer will you give your boss as to why you are asking for a reasonable accomodation NOW, and did not disclose this when you hired on?  (Have your answer ready..rememeber the 5P's works when other stuff does not..Proper Preperation Prevents Poor Performance) 

I think you are not only asking for the pie, but you want the whole bakery.  Ask for a "slice" of pie, not the bakery.  Ask for reasonable accomodations in a flexible schedule to accomodate doc appts.  

A service dog costs thousands and thousands of dollars.  One disabled Vet could not get VA to provide one, but got one through other channels.