VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Agent Orange-Old Skin Issues Claim

Rate this question

KCAC

Question

I am a Thai only Vietnam Vet.  I left U-Tapeo RTAFB Thailand in 1973 with skin issues documented in USAF medical records.  I left USAF in mid 1973 with the skin issues worsening.  A civilian dermatologist immediately diagnoses as exposure to toxic industrial chemicals and refers me to the VA.  I had a rash and blisters on hands, they constantly peeled and also rash on face and feet and severe itching and sweating of the palms of my hands.  The VA Dr said it could be toxic exposure and I receive a 10% service connnect disability within 12 months of leaving Thailand.  The diagnosis was dermititus of hands, face and feet and hyperhidrosis of both hands.  Things continued to get worse and the issues continued to spread, by 1977 my entire body was affected with rashes, blisters, scaling skin, some pimples but constantly changing skin issues.  On another 1977 exam the VA Dr. agreed with my dermatologist that I had been exposed to something very toxic and said he would check with the USAF as to what it might be and get back to me.  I never heard back but they raised my disability to 30% and added psoriasis to the other conditions and stated it covered my upper and lower etremities, chest, back, neck and face.  Within 3 years everything disappeared.  My dermatologist said that proved toxic exposure but it must have been bad since it lasted 7 years.