VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

PTSD- due to MST

Rate this question

Markg623

Question

Hi,

i am new to this so please excuse me if I ramble a bit. 

I have applied for disability with the VA in January of 2017. I am applying for PTSD - MST  depression and anxiety secondary to ptsd also hypertension secondary to ptsd. I also have a claim for bilateral knee problems from a misdiagnosed knee problem from boot camp. I am frustrated by the whole process, but I guess I can only blame myself. The knee injury occurred in 1979 and the MST from 1980-82. I never knew I could get help for my knee years ago. I assumed that you had to retire from the service to use the VA. I am seeing a therapist with the VA and a psychiatrist with the VA. My bp has been out of control for years last visit to the va, my pc had to give me 2 nitroglycerin tablets under my tongue to get my bp down. It was 215/120. They have changed my meds so now it is getting closer to normal range. I am afraid they will say my bp is fine and deny that part of the claim. I have had a c&p for my ptsd with an outside contractor and he said he believes I have ptsd. On my healthy vets my doctors notes say ptsd (r o) mdd anxiety depression. Have a c&p tomorrow for my knees. I guess I am just wondering if anyone has any idea when I will hear from them if it is approved and should I get a VSO to look at my case

thank you

Edited by Markg623

Welcome to hadit.  According to Attorney who represents Veterans, no, the VA can not reduce your or deny you because the meds help.