VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Question For Women

Rate this topic

Have a question about the ever-loved annual PAP test. Yup guys....if you are reading, I warned you!

Had mine about 3 weeks ago. Got a call today from the women's clinic saying that it was "abnormal". All she (the receptionist) told me was "don't worry, it's not cancer". I've never, ever had an abnormal PAP....I'm 44. The lady said the doc wants to repeat it in 3 months. 3 months??? Really?

There is no Gyn-doc at the Dayon VA (something else I've been fighting for, for several years). Not even sure what specialty this doc is...they just grabbed a female doc to work the women's clinic.

Anyway....family history: sister had uterine cancer, neice with pre-cancerous tumors removed from uterus and ovary, both sisters and mother had to have hysterectomies. It's all in my records. And they still want to wait 3 months?

They called late in the afternoon, the receptionist had no details....the doc wasn't available....so now I have to wait until Monday to find out just what the hell is going on.

Have I mentioned lately how much I hate the Dayton VA????

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• HadIt.com Elder

Do you have other insurance to get a second pap test to make sure it is not a false positive? The VA told me I had severe ischemia based on a stress test, and then I had another test and they said "not". You should definitely have another test to verify the first test in my humble opinion.

Nope, no other insurance. I am going to see if they will re-new my fee-base gyn doc though. I had gyn surgery in Dec 07 from a real, civilian doc...in a real, civilian hospital. It took me 18 months to get the VA to approve that!!!