VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Tdiu Reasoning

Rate this question

cowgirl

Question

• HadIt.com Elder

Okay, its Sunday and I was re'reading still trying to figure out why my claim was denied. I recieved a c&p for physical aspects and the va counselor notes were quoted. Denial reason was capable of sedentary employment.

So, on my 21-8940 in block 6, "what service connected disability prevents you from securing and following a substantial gainful occupation". I looked again, I put 'Mdd - major depressive disorder.

At the time of my application I was a patient of a psychologist and pyschiatrist (in treatment and recieiving prescriptions).

How does the va use a c&p physical to deny a mdd request for tdiu?

And no I did not recieve a psych c&p at all. Guess enough was in my va med files that could be used to answer my request for IU with.

Thanks, Just cg on Sunday,

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

Are you still a psych patient, do you still see this psychologist and physician?

If so, go to them and get them, one or the other or both, to write a note, either in your medical records or on their stationery, simple stating that, due to your disability, you can no longer be gainfully employed.

Then you NOD the decision and send them this statement.

That is what it is going to take. What you have here is a rater practicing medicine.

• HadIt.com Elder

Thanks Larry'guy!

Yes, I see both, provider and a phd.

Reason I wonder, because I claimed mdd sc for 40% as the 'one sc disability that prevents me from securing or following any substantially gainful occupation'. (words are from the form).