Ads

• Search

troyez

Illinois Va System Sticking It To Me.

I am a regular Army veteran who was medically discharged in 2003 (after 3 yrs active duty), for L4 - L5 disc ruptures, plantar fascitis (both feet), and elbow tendonitis (no rating). I was given 30% disability for my back and feet and I have been fighting/waiting since 2004 for my rating to go up. I saw a VA neurologist in September 2008 about my ruptured discs (L-4, L-5) (in the last year the pain has caused me to switch to a different job at part-time) After looking over my last MRI and examining my reflexes (knees), he found that my nerves/reflexes had degenerated to the point that my right leg did not respond to the hammer. He told me I needed surgery (laminectomy) to halt the loss of feeling/reflexes in my leg. I received a letter from the Danville (IL) VA fee basis office with a voucher to see a civilian neurosurgeon. I did some homework online, found a great, nationally recognized, neurosurgeon at Rush Hospital in Chicago, and went to my first appointment. The doc told me what the VA neurologist told me and we set a date for surgery. I called the fee basis office and gave them the surgery date, but they told me I had to get approved by my primary care provider before I could schedule a surgery. I had to cancel the surgery and get approval, which my primary dr gave me, and then try to re-schedule the surgery. The neurosurgeon wasn't happy with my cancellation (plus he has a huge client list) and I wasn't able to re-schedule with him. I found a neurosurgeon THREE DOORS AWAY from my VA medical center about six weeks ago and tried to get approval to see this dr. I jumped through all the hoops in the proper order this time (seeing my primary dr and the VA neurologist again in the process), getting my MRI films and med records sent to the new neurosurgeon, and last week I got a call from fee basis telling me to have the new neuro send his "notes," to my primary dr. I have not even seen the new neuro, but