VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Upcoming Traveling Bva Appeal

Rate this question

Cavtrooper088

Question

Hi Gang,

I sure could use some advice as I am still pretty new at this and, so far, have done everything on my own w/o help from any of the agencies like VFW/DAV with the exception of the great advice I have received from our forum. Here's my question.

I submitted my initial claim Feb 06, and was awarded 80% disability Apr 07 ( PTSD 70%, DMII 10%, Neck 10%, back 10%) I wrote back appealing the DMII as well as Neuropathy of both legs,tinninitus and hypertension. I won the following increases: DMII 20%, Tinninitus 10% and neuropathy 10% in both legs for a total of 90%. I lost the appeal on increases for the back and neck as well as the hypertension. Bottom line I am 90%.

Along the way I also filed for a review by the traveling BVA board which leads to my question.

I'm thinking of canceling the BVA appointment, and continuing to build my file for a battle further down the road. I think VA has been fair with most of my ratings. I am in pretty good health physically, and don't see any chance of increases that will get me to 100% secular due to VA math. Mentally I am pretty screwed up, but I am still surviving at work (for now) and want to keep working as it is kinda like therapy. I do believe that my days are numbered due to anger management problems, and eventually hope to file IU based on that issue.

I've also requested my C file as well as medical records from VA, but have not received them yet so I'm kinda the blind as to what they're reviewing.