VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Don't Injuries From Reserve And National Guard Service Count?

Rate this question

chulai78

Question

• Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

I suffered hearing loss and tinnitus from being around Naval aircraft as a week-end warrior and during my 2 week active duty period. Can I get a disability rating for these injuries from my Reserve duties?

Sorry about that! I am new at posting on here! Its my first time actually! I was army national guard weekend warrior similar to you. No active duty. I got injured during drill and am currently rated %70 percent total from my training accident in the guard. If you have an injury going to or from drill and are treated then this can be filed as a service connected injury! Like any military injury it has to be documented during service. For example during that 2 week period you should complain and seek medical attention and it gets diagnosed and treated. This results in evidence and you can file a claim for the injury with VA! One difference between active duty and reserve I found out is. You can file a Va compensation claim and if you win it you can recieve the monetary award for that injury while serving in the reserves. You cannot do this on active duty or even active reserves. You have to leave active duty to file a claim. VA also does one other nasty thing when you drill they deduct your drill pay from VA compensation. Sucks huh!! If you get activated for active duty you must notify VA asap to prevent overpayment. They will suspend you benefits till you come off active duty for deployments! This is what I have learned