VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Question - Disability Compensation And Marriage

Rate this question

celli

Question

I am a disabled Vet who posted here several times and you guys have a been a great help to me.

My question is: My boyfriend is also a disabled Vet receiving 50% and I currently receive 70%. If we got married how does that affect the compensation other than it possibly being increased? Could it negatively affect the amount as we are both disabled?

Also, as a dependent to a disabled vet receiving comp benefits, what happens if that person were to die? I have a 5 yr old daughter and wonder what will happen if I died - would she receive any monetary allowance or compensation on my behalf? AND if I were married would my widowed husband receive anything and visa versa?

God bless you all! :P :o

Celli

• Answers 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

3 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder
I am a disabled Vet who posted here several times and you guys have a been a great help to me.

My question is: My boyfriend is also a disabled Vet receiving 50% and I currently receive 70%. If we got married how does that affect the compensation other than it possibly being increased? Why would it be increased? It's not going to make either one of you 120% (70% + 50)

Could it negatively affect the amount as we are both disabled? Why would it have an affect upon how disabled you are?

Also, as a dependent to a disabled vet receiving comp benefits, what happens if that person were to die? Actually, nothing.

I have a 5 yr old daughter and wonder what will happen if I died - would she receive any monetary allowance or compensation on my behalf? No.