VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Current Tdiu Claim And Moving To Another State

Rate this question

pigdriver

Question

Hi All,

Need advise! I have a claim in for TDIU based on statments from VARO on my award letter for PTSD @ 70%, in the letter they state the Dr. who did the C&P made a lot of reference to unemployability issues and the VA requested I file for TDIU in the letter!! I have sent the employer statements etc. Here is my question. My wife and I are moving from Michigan to Colorado the end of June this year. Can I transfer the claim to the VARO in Denver or do I have to drop the claim and refile once I'm a Colorado resident??? We are moving to Montrose county in SW Colorado, the closest VAMC is Grand Junction only 60 miles or so from our home, since I am currently an ongoing CPT patient how do I transfer my medical and pysch records to Grand Juntion?? Also there is the problem of ongoing controlled substance medications I take every day and I don't think I should be in a postion of no meds during the transition. If anyone has been successful with this kind of moving situation please respond as it would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks for your assistance with this.

• Answers 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

If you can delay your move until you get your award I would do it. Get the IU paper in your hand and then move. So many things can go wrong if you move during the claims process.

• HadIt.com Elder

I would not delay a move just move and after VA puts money in your bank notify them of change of address. Good Luck

Hi All,