VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Would A C&p Likely Be Required?

Rate this question

BFR

Question

Greetings all. I did several searches across hadit but didn't seem to find this specific question so I'll post it here.

I'm a veteran of the first Gulf War back in 1990-1991. Recently IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome), CFS (Chronic Fatigue Syndrome), and fibromyalgia have been deemed as presumptive conditions.

Since that ruling came out I was diagnosed as having all three by my private physician, (Endocrinology and Internal Medicine). From what I understand from my research there are no definitive tests for any of these conditions. She wrote a beautiful statement for me to submit with liberal use of the magic phrase "In my opinion this condition is at least as likely as not related to military service" for each disorder. (My thanks to the Travis County Veteran's Commission (Texas) for the heads up on the VA's preferred phrasing!)

I wondering if the VA may use a C&P to counter the private doctor's findings. Any ideas or previous experience with filing based on presumptive conditions documented by a non-VA doctor?

TIA,

BFR

• Answers 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

I just located the Gulf War subforum. I'd like to move this post to that area since it seems more appropriate, but I dont know how to remove this post. Neither would I want to double post.

What's the most appropriate action?