VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd/bcnr Question

Rate this question

eganusn

Question

Hello all,

New member here. I have a question that hopefully some more experienced members here can answer or even possibly give guidance.

I am a service connected veteran rated at 30%. Served in the Navy from 92-96. One thing when I was seperated for was PTSD, noted as a condition existing prior to service.

When I had my medical board prior to that decision, I argued that the condition itself was one that aggravated by service because I didn't have any symptons until well in service.

The board basically denied my claim due to lack of anything referencing that when the doctor made the findings for seperation. I argued that the initial doctor (who at the time was TAD at Guantonomo Bay), noted and stated that my symptoms occured well after the beginning of service. I even told the doctor who authored the findings of such, but there was nothing in the findings to reference that, so I was told my statements had no credence basically.

Segue 14 years later, and I started looking into my medical records that I held onto, and I find the paperwork for my diagnosis, and the doctor who wrote the PTSD diagnosis, did state that I started having symptoms well into service. Of course the record submitted did not show or even reference that. Personally thats a "glaring" omission regarding my case.

My question is, do I even have, at this point, to submit a request for BCNR?

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

Hello all,