VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Vet With Spine Trouble Needs Info

Rate this question

DRC_WALLY4

Question

I am 29, was in the Army from Sep. 15 2001 to Sep. 15 2004. I now have a degenerate spine from top to bottom, with numerous secondary effects such as sciatica, joint degeneration in spine, intractable pain,torn discs, bulged discs, arthritis in spine, scoliosis from changing posture due to pain , arthritis in hip due to scoliosis, a spinal cyst, loss of reflex in arms, sleep disorders and deprivation.

I am wondering what would cause all this while I'm only 29. My brother was diagnosed with gulf war syndrome, and I was wondering if it causes spinal problems too. I have been fighting the VA for 7 years to get pain medicine that works, and I just got back from a physical therapy appointment where I was told that my pain is causing my muscles to fight against each other, and actually damaging my spine more.

I finally got diagnosed with intractable pain after 7 years, but all they want to do is pump me full of antidepressants and antisiezure medicines, even though every time I try them they screw up my thyroid, cause depersonalization, emotion problems, skin rashes and give me the shakes. I can't sleep more than 4 hours, even though I take ambien, and Tylenol pm at the same time.