VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

C&p Question

Rate this question

E-4 Marine

Question

Hi all,

My name is Oli and I am a Marine Corps Veteran. First of all, thank you to all the veterans and spouses on this site for your service and assistance to veterans. On October 2010, I requested my SMR from St. Louis to obtain records for my claim. After four months of following up with no luck and not receiving the records I called the VA in Jan 2011 and made an informal claim for hearing loss/tinnitus and chronic lower back pain.

In early February, I decided to take matters into my own hands and requested a copy of my C-file and luckily the records that I needed were in my C-file, so I was able to submit my claim via the DAV on FEB 22nd. I was surprised when I received a duty to assist letter on February 23rd that stated that a "medical examination has been scheduled” under the heading “what have we done.” On March 03rd, I received a letter that a C&P was scheduled. I called my DAV rep, who confirmed that it was for both hearing loss/tinnitus and chronic lower back pain. Went for my C&P on this past Friday, and they informed me that I was only scheduled for a C&P for the hearing loss/tinnitus. So I just wanted to know whether the VA usually schedules a C&P on different days as I was claiming two separate conditions, or was this an error on their part? Also is it a bad sign that a C&P has been scheduled for hearing and not for my back?

P.S. Five months later, still no SMR from ST. Louis.

Semper Fi,

Oli

• Answers 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

You can call the C&P Exam people at your VAMC and ask them what the exams are for and even who are the Doctors?