VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

I Was Previously Denied In 2009 For Not Providing Evidence. New Claim In 2011... Help.

Rate this question

minibouncer

Question

Hi all, first post here. Let me say thanks for the help before I get started, if any.

I was pressured by my family and friends back in 2009 to "go to the VA to get help". I didn't really know what the VA was all about, granted I was a younger vet who just returned from Combat in 2006 with the Marines trying to transfer into civilian life. (which would prove to be harder than we all thought).

I figured they meant filing a claim for my PTSD (and not treatment), so I did.

I was given a series of letters asking me to account for my evidence of PTSD. Not wanting to deal with all that nonsense, I threw it out like a true jarhead,continued on my way, and eventually got my denial letter.

Fast forward a few years later, my life had hit rock bottom. Relationship problems, aggression problems, depression issues, substance abuse, driving down the center of roads and around cracks to "avoid the IEDs", trouble at work, (and much worse) etc etc...... I realized I needed help. That's when I turned back to the VA to get the treatment I needed. I struggled with that too. I would go to a VA center and talk to a counselor, and attended group therapy for a while until that fell apart for me. I still struggle to get into the VA because part of my problem is wanting to confront and deal with it.

Anyway, I had opened a claim again for my PTSD in 2011. I was diagnosed, and given medicine as well.