VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Mental Health Results, Fear I'll Get Denied..

Rate this question

jesusplay

Question

“bipolar disorders diagnosis is related to his military experience,
as the veteran described the onset of symptoms to begin within his
first year of service, unrelated to any significant events,
trauma,
nor combat.

That statement is not a good medical accurate assessment ,in my opinion.But I am not a doctor.

An initial Bi polar episode may never appear as related to” significant events, trauma, or combat.”

Mania ,due to bi polar, for example can happen suddenly with no apparent cause.

Of course a significant event could trigger it, or excerbate it, but that is certainly not the only cause of bi polar illness, that this doc hung his hat on.

Do you have evidence in your SMRS that indicate bi polar symptoms?

Did the examiner have and refer to your SMRs?

Do you have your personnel 201 file.

That 201 file was very probative for a friend of mine who finally got his bi polar service connected after 10 years of denials and no SC at all.

There seemed to be no significant event at all ,that triggered his first manifestations of bipolar, while onboard a ship in the Pacific.

As I recall, his claim rested most particularly in some serious discipline reports (he was in mania stage of bi polar )and this was completely unusual and sudden behavior that he exhibited.

His VA shrink was willing to associate the evidence we found in his Military personnel records as his first manifestation of bipolar and to send the VA a brief letter as to that fact.

It satisfied the nexus requirement.With SSDI solely for bi polar,as well, the vet was awarded 100% SC by the VA.