VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

4140 form

Rate this question

GARYLINN

Question

I am so befuddled today over this form.  FORM 4140.  I JUST learned about it.  I have been receiving payment at the 100% rate for eight years.  I am actually 80% but receiving unemployability pay.  I just learned from reading an article that this form is due once a year or they can reduce or even take my rating away.  WHAT THE HECK?  Again, I have not even ever heard of this form until about thirty minutes ago.  Is it possible that my part of the country (Manchester, NH) doesn't care about Form 4140?  Should I begin sending it in even though I have NEVER EVER been asked for one?   I am very interested in your thoughts and view on this subject.

6 answers to this question

Great question!!!!

Fill in the form, once each year, and send it in.  It even says in the instructions to fill it in or your benefits could be reduced.  

You may not have to do this anymore after you are age 65, but someone on TDIU could chime in on that. 

Frankly its a mistake the VA hasnot  caught it so far.  They are always doing "audits" to try to reduce Veterans, and your name can come up any time.  

I have heard of a few Vets who got reduced because they did not send the form in.  They argued that VA did not send them the applicable form.  

Dont do that.  Its your responisbility to send the completed form in..even if VA neglects to mail it.  You dont want to go down that road....trying to "prove" VA did NOT mail something.  How would you do that?  Is it possible you got the form, and it got thrown away with junk mail?  Yes.  Is it possible you moved and did not give VA your current address?  Sure.