VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

New PTSD 40 years late

Rate this question

tomahawk23

Question

Hello All;  Just filed my first VA Claim (PTSD). After 40 years of living with the symptoms, I finally saw VA mental health. Saw three two PhD and one MD. All indicated I was depressed and anxious, but none said PTSD one PhD said "symptoms commenly associated with combat trauma". Got fed up with the wait at the VA so I went outside saw a Phd worker then a MD Phsycirist. Diagonissed PTSD and Major Depressive Disorder with a GAF 50 and worsining. He even went so far as to fill out the DBQ. I was a Med-a-Vac pilot wiht multiple DFC's so my VSO said I did not need a stressor statement. My question is how does the VA view statements and notes from outside Doc's.and will the DBQ help or hinder my claim.

5 answers to this question

If your PTSD claim was filed after July 2010, the VA will need a MH professional at VA to make the actual PTSD diagnosis.

If your stressor statements do not fall into the "fear of" and 'Close proximity to hostile activity ', as the New PTSD regs of 2010 require, then you will need proof of your stressor.

I was a Med-a-Vac pilot wiht multiple DFC's so my VSO said I did not need a stressor statement. "

I hope he is right. I sure disagree. What did your 5103 VCAA letter ask for?

VA usually only concedes stressor with the PH, CIB, or CAR on a DD 214.

I assume the statements above : 

"Saw three two PhD and one MD. All indicated I was depressed and anxious, but none said PTSD one PhD said "symptoms commenly associated with combat trauma". 

did not result from a VA C & P exam for PTSD.