VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

1st Time VA Claim -

Rate this question

MarkP

Question

This is my first time in this forum and new to the VA compensation arena. I hope I'm in the right place.

I want to file a claim regarding being exposed to the chemical MALATHION while in the service. I entered the service in 1981 and was discharged in 1992. I was outside the time frame for the Presumptive diseases associated with Agent Orange. MALATHION is an insecticide that was used during the Vietnam Era and is named in the Agent Orange laws that have come out in the last ten years. I was a military working dog handler and it was SOP to "dip" or bath our assigned military working dogs in this insecticide to manage ticks, etc. The disability, or disease that I think is a direct result of using this chemical is Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia )(CLL). This type of Leukemia and all other B-Cell Cell Leukemias are mentioned in the Agent Orange laws as a result of the different chemicals used in Agent Orange and other insectides during the Vietnam Era. As you can see, my issue is that I did not serve during this time and I'm outside the "window" of this law. My intention is to file a claim that this service related chemical (MALATHION) has resulted in myself coming down with Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. My family has no history of this disease and once diagnosed, my oncologist asked me if I had came into contact with any "chemicals"........ Would I file a "Presumptive" claim using the Agent Orange law? I'm outside the time frame as I have stated, so I don't know if because of that fact the VA would just throw out my claim or should I use another approach? I don't want to waste time and file a solid claim. Any help would be much appreciated!