VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Tinnitus Claim.

Rate this question

Chazman1946

Question

I was a USMC Combat Engineer (tunnel rat) in Viet Nam and had both of my eardrums blown out while setting off a satchel charge on Operation Orange 1966.

I was medivaced for this to Okinawa for treatment.

I have had constant ringing in both of my ears from this for almost 40 years.

I had tried to make a claim on this back in the early 70's with the VA and they gave me zip, zero, nada.

I put in for another compensation claim for agent orange (Diabetes) about three years ago and was granted that one for 20%, at the same time I re-applied for the tinnitus and a hearing loss. Once again they gave me zip, zero, nada, even though I was told I had an 18% hearing loss.

I now understand that there IS compensation for tinnitus, and there has been for a long time.

I am reapplying through the Legion and I was told that since I have proof that I had made the claim back in the 70's, and it was blown off, I may be eligible for retroactive compensation back till then, is this true??

I know the original claim from the 70's is in my file, because I saw it there when I went through my application and testing three years ago.

Charlie Ford

• Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

Chazman:

Welcome to Hadit and thank you for your Service. There is compensation for tinnitus the ringing in your ear but I would bet that you also have suffered hearing loss. I think that you have a plan and you should proceed with your claim.

Do you use a hearing aid or need one?

Good Luck