VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Appeal On A Hypertension As Secondary To Diabetes Claim

Rate this question

Ruffcreek

Question

I am a Viet Nam combat vet who served in V.N. during the late 60's.

I have a 60% combined rating from tinnitus, PTSD, and diabetes type II.

In 2006 I submitted a claim for hypertension as secondary to diabetes and was denied.

I hope I am not enclosing too much information but am looking for some advice and want to include as much information as possible.

REASONS FOR DECISION From the VA (January, 2007)

We have denied service connection for hypertension as secondary to the service-connected disability of diabetes mellitus, type 2 with dietary restrictions.

Service connection may be granted for a disease or injury which resulted from a service-connected disability or was aggravated thereby.

At the VA examination dated July 12, 2006 your blood pressure readings were 142/88, 146/90, and 136/92. The VA examiner noted that you had elevated blood pressure readings that were observed beginning in 1997. You are currently being treated for hypertension. Your diabetes was diagnosed in approximately 1999. Your most current renal function studies at the VA Medical Center dated July 2006, were all normal. Therefore, this would show that your diabetes has not interfered with any renal function, making it unlikely that your diabetes is causing your hypertension. He stated he feels your hypertension is most likely essential in nature. Therefore, it is not likely that your hypertension is related to your service connected diabetes.