VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

C&p (ptsd) And An Earlier Effective Date (eed) For Bipolar

Rate this question

Jay

Question

I posted a question similar to this under FAQ forum and am grateful for the replies. I am quite new to writing my questions in these forums and maybe I had originally posted in the question in the wrong forum. I didn't feel as though I got that much closer to resolving my question from the answers and hope I am able to have dialog with this post. So I hope no one minds but here is another attempt. Thanks everyone.

My VSO Rep told me that they usually combine mental conditions as many on this site have said. In my case they combined my PTSD and Bipolar diagnosis when they made the final compensation rating this year.

I put a NOD in requesting an earlier effective date to 2003 (Bipolar II/Anxiety/Panic Disorder) instead of the PTSD claim date I put in 2006. I also asked to make the pre-service of 30% be 0% resulting in a 70% total rating. This is based on the rules regarding preexisting disorder and aggravation and the rule regarding if the preservice portion is ascertainable or not (if not 0% preservice should be awarded then add the % of aggravation). According to my entrance exam There is no mention of symptoms, aggravation, or diagnosis for PTSD or Bipolar .

Besides the NOD my VRO asked for a Hearing officer and Traveling Board hearing on the BVA appeal (especially in light of the above C&P and rating decision)

That said my question is: