VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Hey Everybody,

Rate this question

dicple13

Question

I am a Desert Storm Gulf War Veteran who was diagnosed with Chronic PTSD since 2003 at a VA medical facility.I have been trying ever since to prove to the VRO that I am a Combat Veteran contrary to their beliefs saying their is no proof of me being in combat.My DD214-215 clearly shows that I served in SWA fron Dec1990- Apr 1991.By the way my MOS was 19Delta Cavalry Scout with the 2/2Armored Cavalry Regiment at the time out of Bamberg Germany.I did not receive the CIB CAB,Purple Heart just a Unit Valorous Award and SWA Medal.I also provided copies of my LES showing I received Danger Pay which is now Combat Pay,and a Buddy Letter detailing our tour with 2/2ACR in Desert Storm.Yet again ,I get there is no proof that you are a combat veteran.Did I mention I was a 19D which is a Combat MOS I think.I even sent off for a copy of my Unit Activity Report during Desert Storm detaling the stressors I claimed for PTSD.What did I do wrong?

• Answers 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Nothing- you did nothing wrong-

PTSD stressors have to be proven unless you have the PH or CAR.

The best thing you can do-you did do-you got a buddy letter but was the buddy a witness to the stressors you experienced?

There is a topic here at hadit specifically on what a stressor is and what doesnt raise to the level of stressor.

Did they send your stressor info to JSRRC yet?

Did the Unit action report and your MOS fully coincide?

Did the Unit have any after action reports or lessons learned reports? regarding the same incidents?