VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Tdiu

Rate this question

gunner

Question

I am a Vietnam Vet and am rated at a total of 90%.I was rated at 50% for PTSD until recently when I was sent in for a review by a QTC examination and was increased to 70% for PTSD.My Doctors at the VA keep telling me that I should request 100% unemployable and they would back me up 100%.My concern is that I work for the Army as a civilian worker and have for the last 12 years.What will happen to me with regards to my retirement with the federal service?What happens to my status etc.I am concerned about my retirment.If you have any info or help please address this subject.I'm really worried about this situation. Thanks.

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

Well you can't get TDIU if you have a job and are able to work. When you retire you should be able to get TDIU as well as retirement although there are others here who know a lot more about Federal Service and VA Disability.

I get Social Security and VA Disability.

I retired from the civil service in 2006 andwas awarded 40% disability from the VA in Feb 08.It hasen't affected my retirement. I don't believe you have anyhing to worry about. By all means go for the 100%. Hope this helps and thanks for your service.

• HadIt.com Elder

You need to apply for disability retirement and get approved. Then apply for TDIU. I was a postal worker and that is how I did it. You just have to get by on the small OPM pension until you can get SSDI and TDIU.