VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Think The Va Took Advantage Of My Kind Nature

Rate this question

gdsnide

Question

OK...As I have said I have been approved for SMC (L But sent papers to Lawyer today to see if I can get it any higher) & one VA Psychologist had to write in his report I can't handle my own money & today I get a letter from the RO talking about appointing a Fuduciary.

My question is can I appoint my Wife or Daughter as said person because I damn sure don't want to have to go see some one I don't even know for my "Allowance"

Any information greatly appreciated

Thank U

Gary

• Answers 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

I'm no expert, but I would think you can appoint your daughter or wife as your fiduciary. When/if my husband is no longer able I will be his fiduciary, and I don't care what the VA says.

Carlie,

Yep, I received the letter from the RO in St.Louis,MO refering to having someone else handle my money

This is all due to the Psychologist the VA sent me to see who said I was to damn dumb to handle my own money or incompetent or whatever.

I could look up the exact wording but I guess U get the picture.

If worst came to worst I would have no problem with my Wife being said person as she handles the money anyway & has since we got married & since I'm 61 & she is also & we have been married since I was 18 I would say she has done a fine job.

I had a business for appox. 25 years & she was my book keeper & did an excellent job at that.