New From Illinois

g3607

Hello,

I am a single mother who is also a 100% disabled veteran. I work as a Medical Technologist and here is my story:

In 2004, Tennessee VA proposed that I was mentally incompetent to handle my affairs and assigned AmSouth Bank (now Regions Bank) over my disability benefits in 2005. In August 2005, AmSouth Bank began receiving my disability benefits and allotted $200 per week for me to take care of myself and son (who was 3 at this time). The bank was receiving approximately $2300 of my benefits during this time. I was a single mother putting myself through college at that time and doing my best to take care of my son.

AmSouth Bank attempted to have me legally declared mentally incompetent in Montgomery County Chancery Court in Clarksville Tennessee. The bank intentionally put the wrong address for me in their petition so that I would not be aware of what they were doing. I had to represent myself as a "pro -se" litigant until I was able to find an attorney willing to represent me. I stated in court papers that I submitted that AmSouth Bank was illegally appointed as my fiduciary. AmSouth Bank willfully withdrew their petition against me in 2006 and the case was dismissed against me.

However, AmSouth Bank continued to receive my benefits as though they had won and continued to keep their title as fiduciary over my disability benefits. And they continued to only send my family $200 per week until June 2008. Now, they receive all of my benefits and my family gets nothing.