VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd Due To Mst *triggers*

Rate this question

shortpig

Question

While I was in the Army I was assaulted by a permanent party SGT and I was a trainee at AIT in New Jersey. I was set up to lose the court case by my legal council provided by the military.

They rushed me off the base to another where I ended up with a suicide attempt. Then they pushed me out of the service as quickly as possible. I have fought this battle for almost 35yrs and can't do it alone anymore. I have filed a claim for benefits and compensation. Of course the base cannot locate the criminal claim file now. I am seeing an independent Dr who has diagnosed me with PTSD and all that goes with it. She will be putting her pkg together for me to take to my C & P appt end of next week. I do have a job and really have no problems at work on a normal day. That is my life away from my home where I hide the rest of the time. Property is fenced and guarded by large dogs. My daughter does most of my shopping and takes me to my appts and anywhere I have to go. She and her hubby also live with me. The only real or close to real evidence I have are stmts from relatives of the incident and how my life changed after it.

So any advice on what to do or how this might play out will be greatly appreciated.

• HadIt.com Elder

I think that you have a good chance of winning your claim but you need to work on it. There are several Members on Hadit that have the same diagnosis as you and I believe can help.

• HadIt.com Elder

Short, thats a lot of years to carry that. Glad you are posting here, its difficult but not impossible, helps to share in a safe environment.