VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

After Seven Years - R1

Rate this question

sixthscents

Question

Many of you know me, and know that I have been in the VA system since 2002. Today I recieved, for the first time ever a call from my actual rater. They agreed with my latest claim, and increased my SMC to R1. I have been arguing this one for about 2 years, but it was for all the marbles really.

The rater was really nice, and explained why they were rating me (of course, I knew why since I know CFR 38 and the results of all the C&P exams but I let him say why since he seemed to really want to explain). Anyway, the only higher benefit is R2 and I feel that I just dont qualify for it.

Anyway, I wanted all of you to know... dont ever quit, don't ever give up. If you feel you deserve a particular benefit, and the medical and regulatory evidence support you - dont ever ever quit. Make sure you have all your ducks in a row, and you will win. Most importantly READ - read CFR 38, read M21-1MR, and read the postings here. Take notes, ask opinions, and file. Then just dont quit until you are satisfied that the result is fair.

My claim for R1 took 2 years, and there's quite a bit in back pay coming. Yet this is money that I have already paid out myself for CNA's in home, etc. It's fair and it will probably be the last claim I file on my own behalf (since there's only R2, and I just dont feel right asking for that). From a rating of 40% to over 200% schedular, and SMC of R1 - seven years of my life. All I can say is never quit, never surrender, never give up.

• Answers 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question