VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Increase From 70%scd For Ptsd To 100% While Still Working Full-time

Rate this question

Guest Cliph

Question

I am a Vietnam Veteran and currently rated at 70% SCD for PTSD alone (no other disabilities). I love my work and feel that it's theraputic for me to continue working. Since my last C&P (2001), some of my symptoms have gotten worse and some new ones appeared. Is it possible to be awarded 100% SCD for PTSD while still employed full-time? What would be the salient points to cover in such a C&P?

Thank you for your attention.

Redcatcher, 67-68 11B-RTO

Yes.....I knew a former Sgt. In Wy. who was a manager of a oxygen supply store that worked there full time, but did his best to cope w/ his symptoms, and had an intact family. I don't know the details of it all other than last time I saw him he was being screened for tbi, and don't know what the outcome was, as I have lost touch. (was in a PTSD group) I didn't really understand how it all worked out to give him such a favorable rating given the basics of what I knew of his circumstances, as I have seen a glimpse of far more destructive trails of people's lives that got shortchanged with much lower ratings from the VA.

It really bothered me for a long time given my own struggles with getting correctly rated, and from my seat the only way to get anything done in a fair manner seems to depend on the c&p examiner's competency in whatever field they are evaluating u for. (His examiner that recommended the criteria for 100% was a team leader of the inpatient ptsd group at Sheridan Wy. VAMC)