VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Need Advice

Rate this question

Art

Question

:D I am a retired Gulf War Vet. In 1996 I had to fight with V.A. two years for 40%.

20% for right arm pain and weakness. Now arm has unexplained moderate to severe twitch. I am right handed. V.A. never gave me a full explanation about the arm. I have been under Neuro. Dr care last year, he says twitch is unexplained. In 1998 I got Voc.

Rehab. four years of college to be a teacher now can't even write my own name sometimes. My lower back is rated at 10% but now my right leg is going numb. Neuro. Dr. says this maybe because of lower back not sure. The last year I have been tested and retested for everything . All of my doctors say they do not know what is causing this. Could be maybe? My left leg is rated at 10% because of scar tissue. Any suggestions?

• Answers 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

In 2001 I was having left hand "spasm" which was classified as a seizure. Also left side weakness. Went through all of the tests and finally diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Just got disabled veteran status this week. I was diagnosed 6 years and 6 months from discharge date. If diagnosis is within 7 years of discharge date it is considered service connected at minimum of 30%. Have them check for MS. Good luck.

Are you being treated for this at a VA facility? If so make sure to get a copy of your records and make sure they are documenting everything. Also have you hand any EMG or cat/MRI scans? Are you having any other symptoms? 38 CFR 3.317 list the ones that they have for us Gulfwar vets.