VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

100% Iu / I Cant Work ...but Cant Afford Not To.

Rate this question

redspot321

Question

I know how this comes across. If im disabled then I should lower my standard of living and quit complaining. I completely understand that. However Im in a bit of a bind.

I am rated at 90% right now for several herniations in my back, and bilateral Avascular Necrosis, and Crohns disease.

I can no longer work I am virtually killing myself. I take medication to knock out my immune syatem yet Im a Respiratory therapist! I am very high risk for disease.

Here are my questions

If I file IU I will take a pay cut from 55K to 10 K a year plus lose a matching 401K plan. I dont know that I can support my faimily of 4 with this pay cut. What kind of SS benifits would I quilify for to supplement this income?

Also is it hard to get 100% IU P+T. This would reduce my taxes by $450 a month this would be a great savings.

Thank you for your help.

• Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

Unfortunately the way it works you have to not work to get 100%. I know that after you get 100% you could work maybe. You should also be able to get SSD after 5 months and for many of us pay no Federal Taxes

I live fairly comfortably on my VA and SSD

Think of it as medical retirement caused by your service

• HadIt.com Elder

Okay.

As Pete says, you can "get by" pretty well on SSDI and VA 100%.