VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Suggestions

Rate this question

GDavis9755

Question

I received a 30% rating for PTSD, I'm thinking of filing a NOD. Let me know what you guys think. Award letter states:I'm a combat vet with silver star, bronze star with V and purple hearts, so my testimony alone is sufficient as far as a combat stressor is concerned. I was able to reopen this case from one I filed in 1983 which was denied. The examiner stated all the causes of the PTSD This is were I'm having a problem with the rating. Quote "Overall, teh medical examiner diagnosed your condition as posttraumatic stress, and provided you a GAF score between 51-60". A few days later added "clarified his medical opinion, and included an opinion the condition presentsdepressive symptomology". They described the GAF score as where I should be rated. My problem again is, just what is between 51-60? Should I been given a certain GAF score and not just "between". They seem to know what the cut off is between 50% and 30% pretty well. It also states he didn't even have my medical records during the exam. Should I ask for another C&P and disagree with his 30% rating? Thank you all.

• Answers 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder