VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

First C&p For Diabetes And Coronary Artery Disease

Rate this question

JohnO

Question

First time post here. Greetings to all and thanks in advance for the help.

I am a Vietnam vet, served in III Corps in an assault helicopter company. I'm rated 0% right now, but am going for my first C&P on the 30th of this month.

My claim filed under Agent Orange is for Type II Diabetes with secondaries hypertension, neuropathy and coronary artery disease. This is how my VSR said to file. I'm not exactly sure why coronary artery disease cannot be considered separately given the recent IHD addition to the list of diseases covered under Agent Orange. Perhaps one of you will enlighten me about this.

I had a heart attack in '96. I have a stent and see a cardiologist 3-4 times a year, including an annual stress test. I have a neurologist that sees me twice a year for my neuropathy and my motor neuron disease. My family doctor treats my diabetes and hypertension.

My question is that I have two types of neuropathy or chronic pain. I've had chronic pain all over my body 24 hours a day since '89. Just the last three or so years, I noticed a new layer of pain in my feet, ankles and hands. My neurologist said that the "new" pain is diabetic neuropathy. Is diabetic neuopathy considered a secondary compliant to diabetes by the VA?

I have a complicated list of diseases and complaints. I'm unsure how to approach this hearing. What can I expect? Will I be throwing the examiner a curve if I talk about my chronic pain (been with me since '89) and my diabetic neuropathy that has been with me for three or for years?

• Answers 17
  • Created