Using an Ad Blocker? Consider adding HadIt.com as an exception. Hadit.com is funded through advertising, ad free memberships, contributions and out of pocket. ×

New To Posting

mpara

Greetings to all of my Brothers and Sisters

This is my first time to post. I actually set up my account a while back but never actively participated.

I am very interested in Gulf War Syndrome issues as both my wife and I served in Desert Storm. I know many people don't believe there is anything to this but I can assure you something is going on. I fear history will forget us and funding will dry up for research into GWS. Please remember that while this didn't seem like much of a war, as they go, it was the only war we had and every single one of us went over there hearing of how Sadam commanded the fourth or fifth largest (soviet equipped) army in the world, that he was a madman who possessed massive stockpiles of chemical agents that he had in the past and would in the future use and that it was supposed to be the "mother of all battles". I think it somehow went all backwards for us as we marched in the parades that really should have been our Dad's and Uncle's from Vietnam and Korea; parades which it seems came in advance of what would end up being our battles and before our wounds ever manifested.

You might say I grew up in the system as I used to drive my Grandpa (WWII, Seabee) the Greatest Man in the world, to his VA appointments when I was a teenager. Now thirty years later I set in the same waiting rooms where I used to set with him. I think the VA has come a long way in that time.