VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Scars

Rate this question

BILLYBOB

Question

I am a VN vet with heart attack at 43, open heart at 43, multiple angioplasties, stent, stroke, etc before age 50. The open heart was performed in 1991 almost twenty years ago. My question is about the scars that were left from that surgery. I have looked at the VA information on that subject listed under "Skin" and I'm still not sure if those scars are considered compensable. The guidance seems to focus on linear vs nonlinear in shape. The scar from my leg where they removed the vein they used for the bypasses and the scar on my chest meet the size requirments for 20%. Are these scars considered secondary to the IHD I have? I ask this question because the VA doctor that examined me for the C&P measured the scars for his report. Has anyone had any experience with this issue?

• Answers 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Have you filed the IHD claim yet? Is that what the CD & P was for?

I see you listed no SC disability.

Make sure you claim the stroke as secondary to the IHD.

My claim is similiar- I am not a doctor but if you have IHD- it is as likely as not that the CVA is due to it unless the VA could somehow find another reason for the stroke.The reason is that IHD is an atherosclerotic involvement of the heart causing narrowing of arteries- which could include eventually in some cases- -the arteries of the brain.(cerebral ischemia)

If a doctor states that for you and gives a full medical rationale then the VA would SC the CVA as secondary to the IHD.

I assume (but not sure how these new regs will really work)