VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Living Expense While In School Question

Rate this question

socomsam

Question

I am still waiting to hear back from my counselor to see what track I am going to take in the program. I want to go to a guitar repair tech school as I do it on the side and I know I can make a living doing it if I had certified credentials. I was awarded disability just over a year ago after 22 years of being out of the Army.

They only rated me 10% (I was probably at least 70% when I was originally injured back in 1985 since I did six months of physical therapy and I've been in pain ever since). As I stated in a previous post, I work in a factory and can no longer do my job and would quit tomorrow, but I need the income.

Since I am hoping to go to a six month tech school full time out of town, how will I earn a living while at school? Do they pay a living expense?

• Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

My daughter gets chap 35 education benefits and she get 925 a month. I don't know if vets get more; I do know they pay vets for their dependents too if you have any. Good luck.

/doc

There is Voc Rehab info at the VA web site:

http://www.vba.va.gov/bln/vre/index.htm

You have to search for more info there as it isnt always too easy to find.

"Since I am hoping to go to a six month tech school full time out of town, how will I earn a living while at school? Do they pay a living expense?"

The VA if you are eligible for Voc Rehab, will have to determine if the schooling goals you have are appropriate.

They will pay you a stipend every month as long as your grades are maintained.