VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Iu Claim?

Rate this question

Deacon 2011

Question

Hey Team,

I am new to all of this, just rec'd 80% rating today for TBI with residuals; didn't know anything about IU when I submitted the claim however, VSO suggested I complete the 21-8940 and submit for IU. I had to resign from my job in December because I just couldn't work anymore... my questions are: what are my chances of receiving IU... how long does it normally take (claim took a year)... and must I be IU before I can file for SSDI? I have another claim pending that will at least result in a 90% rating... should I wiat for this claim to be closed or start moving on somehting now?

Sorry for all of the questions but like I said, I am a rookie at this!

• Answers 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Thanks Yulooking!

i would put iu claim in now. this will b your effective date if granted. yes started your ssdi claim it will take a while. i say this because i am 100% and am just now doing my ssdi case. you will get iu

• HadIt.com Elder

Actually, my experience was that SSA granted SSDI well before the VA got around to even looking at my claim.

I was told (at the time) that two things helped speed up the process.

First, I filed for early retirement (62). This indicates to SSA that they will be paying regardless. Next, a senior SSA clerk was very helpful, and told me exactly what to do.

Another clerk (a junior one at that) was not helpful, and did not have a clue to the process of obtaining an earlier effective date. (Sounds like the VA)