VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Any Advice Appreciated

Rate this question

Melancholy_Sleestak

Question

First off, I am a soldier who has been successful in being awarded a diagnosis of PTSD with substance abuse due to Military Sexual Trauma. For this I am surprised, glad and thankful to those that helped me on this forum and those who corroborated my claim.

However, I also filed for PTSD as a result of my experience in Saudi Arabia as a result of SCUD attacks. This was not awarded to me or mentioned in my award letter. It seems they said "Yes you qualify for PTSD and we'll just pick this one reason."

I have not contacted my VSO about this and was hoping to get the opinion of this community.

I am currently trying to get into an inpatient program and I'm afraid of having my successful claim compromised by also discussing the psychological impacts of what I experienced in Saudi Arabia vs being molested by my Drill SGT. The fear of death by chemical weapons was in itself entirely traumatic. Although I had been molested by a Drill Sergeant, the threat and experiences of SCUD attacks were entities in themselves so powerful that there is no overlap aside from the extreme fear in my mind.

To have this just skipped over is infuriating to me. At the time it was so singularly frightening and real that it left no room for any other experience in my past history. It still haunts me.

Do any of you think I should appeal the decision that makes no mention of my experiences in Desert Storm? Should I fight for service connection for PTSD as a result of fear of hostile instrumentalities when I have a currently successful claim for PTSD due to military sexual trauma?