VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Fighting My Fear Of Homelessness With Quiting My Job

Rate this question

socomsam

Question

I was just awarded 30% PTSD (took them only one month from my evaluation on April 4, 2011) plus they raised my percentage for my degenerative disc disease from 10 to 20% to a combined rating of 40%. I am relieved since I've been out of the service for 23 years.

I am enrolled in the voc rehab program, but that has been a long slow road.

I was a combat videographer in the Army (SOCOM) and have been in that profession since separating from the Army in 1988 but I cannot do the work anymore. It's too much for my back. I can no longer hold a camera for any length of time. I've unknowingly been dealing with PTSD for 23 since separating from the service and it has caused a lot of employment problems since. I just didn't know what was wrong. I've never held a job longer than a couple of years before something happens and I am fired or demoted. My latest job taken to make sure my family and I didn't end up on the streets is working in a factory, 12 hour shift, lifting heavy boxes and pallets. Aside from the physical strain on my back, the mental strain is causing far worse problem. My stress levels are through the roof and I have numerous panic attacks at work and constant heart palpitations, which causes me to panic, thinking I am going to have a heart attack or stroke.

I want to quit so bad, but my monthly compensation is not enough to pay the bills.

Does anyone know if you can get unemployment if you quit due to a disability? It seems they want you to be fired first, but my drive to not put my family on the streets keeps me going, even though I am running out of steam.