VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Inheritance When You Are On A Va Disability Pension

augoldminer

I am a 60 year old veteran on a 90% VA disability pension and 10% SC and my father is in late stage Alzheimer.

When he passes how will any money or money from the sale of his property affect my disability pension

When he passes i as the his executor will have to sell his houses and property and divide the money 5 ways.

Plus i will have to find a place to live as i am care taking one of his homes and watching the other property right now.

I plan to buy a motor home to live in as i can not take cold weather or hot weather any more. and plan to fallow the weather.

I don't want to rent a place to live as i have had many problems with landlords and don't want to deal with them anymore. living in a motor home if i don't like where i am living its simple to move just load up and drive away.

Plus i have a number of friends that will give me a place to park in exchange for watching there property as a caretaker.

As far as i can tell my part of the inheritance will be about $20.000 to $30.000 due the the housing market.

Will this stop my pension till i use up the inheritance or how does that work i never have got a stright story on it.

I also plan to take some collage courses in gunsmithing and the motor home will allow me to travel to that part of the state to the collage.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• HadIt.com Elder

You are really asking a couple of complicated questions.