VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Voc. Rehab. Questions

Rate this question

Bhut

Question

Hello,

I recieved an email out of the blue yesterday from a person contracted by Voc. Rehab. I had taken classes off and on in 2009, and 2010 when they were available at the bases I was assigned to in Iraq and Afghanistan where I work as a contractor. It has been a year since I have taken any classes, I was planning in attending again when I am finished working in Afghanistan in approx. 1 year. I might even be able to take some while here but have not yet. The lady on the phone asked me if I wa s planning on attending classes again I said yes, she asked a few more general questions. Then at the end she asked me if I was recieving any type of prescriptions from VA, I said yes, she then asked what they were. I told her that I thought it was personal and would rather not answer that question. She said that it was no problem and I would hear from her again soon.

I have had an active claim since 2005 for PTSD and Depression. I had a C&P exam in Dec. 2010, the exam seemed to go well. I then recieved a letter stating my claim was denied in April 2011. Then in August 2011, I recieved another letter from BVA stating I should be afforded another C&P exam because the doctor had made an error. I contacted the VA yesterday and they said my appt. should be scheduled within the next 3-4 weeks.

If I begin taking classes would this hurt my chances of being granted benefits for PTSD and Depression? From the way I understand the last letter from BVA it sounds like there is a very good chance I will be granted benefits, but as we all know, nothing is guaranteed.