If The Va Dr Gives A New Axis Ii Disorder Can It Afect A Disability Claim?

I am getting worried about my visit to my VA psychiatrist today. I asked her what my exact diagnosis is. She said that I had major depressive disorder and she thought that I had a personality disorder. She didn't get specific about the pd.

I know about the depression. I was diagnosed with it while I was in the military and currently have a 30% rating. I was never diagnosed with a personality disorder when I was active duty. I was a Petty Officer First class when I got out with an honorable discharge.

I have been having a hard time in finding and keeping a job. I have a lot of anxiety with my depression and it makes it hard to keep a job when I have panic attacks.

Recently I have been feeling the stress of not working and my anxiety got so bad that I started having suicidal thought and was admitted to a psych floor at the VA hospital.

Now they are saying because I cut myself that I have a personality disorder....but I am 43 years old and never had any violence or drug use. I am more of a recluse. I don't understand it.

What is worrisom is a personality disorder is not compensateable but depression is. I have made the depression connection with my millitary servie. Can this new diagnosis hurt me?

I have tried very hard to get a decent job. I have a college degree, but I have a lot of trouble with my coping skills. This makes it extreemly hard to find a job.

Would the VA delibertly give some one that diagnosis to keep them from getting a fair compensation? I know that I have issues, but it is depression and anxiety causeing them and my depression started while I was active duty.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• HadIt.com Elder